Grenadine, for real

grenadine-72

One day when I was browsing some of the bygone cocktail recipes in my Savoy cocktail book I found one or two that I wanted to try, but was discouraged by a certain ingredient: grenadine. All the commercial versions of this syrup that I’ve ever tried are too high-fructose-corn-syrupy artificial and I could never bring myself to use them in cocktails for my friends or family.

Grenadine is, in theory, made from pomegranate. Well pomegranate is an unwieldy fruit – unless you have an industrial juicer, getting the good stuff out of that seedy globe would be overly daunting. Luckily pomegranate juice is now available in a bottle, which means that making your own grenadine at home is quite easy. POM is a good option; Odwalla offers one that is pomegranate with a little berry juice added.

I found a couple of helpful posts on this topic, such as this one at the Cocktail Chronicles. The recipe that worked best for me is as follows:

Pour 2 cups of pomegranate juice into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and let simmer until reduced by half (about 20 minutes). Slowly stir in 1 cup of sugar. Remove from heat and let cool completely. Transfer to a sealed container and refrigerate. Now this is true, deep-red grenadine syrup, and it makes a lovely clover club cocktail. You may choose to temper the flavor a bit by adding some simple syrup.

You can also try a cold process – simply combine equal parts juice and sugar. I found the syrup produced by this method to be too bright and assertive, but you may very well prefer it.

3 Responses to “Grenadine, for real”


  1. 1 Seamus December 23, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Try the last of the recipes I list in this post.

    http://bunnyhugs.org/2008/03/18/making-quality-grenadine/

    I need to update my original post to encourage people to forget about the previous recipes and only go for the last one. In fact ideally leave the water out of the last one and substitute extra pomegranate.

    The process is not too fiddly and the results are great.

  2. 2 amyallsopp December 25, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Thanks, Seamus. I appreciated reading about your pomegranate experimentation. I bet those methods involving seeding and marinating are good, but too laborious for me. I’ve been pleased with the results of reducing POM juice by half and combining with sugar.


  1. 1 Cardinal Virtue « How delightful Trackback on December 25, 2008 at 1:16 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

